KIU News

  • Home /
  • KIU News /
  • John Tendo Senkaaba Wins AMSKIU Presidency

John Tendo Senkaaba Wins AMSKIU Presidency


KIU, Western Campus – John Tendo Senkaaba has been declared the outright winner of the Association of Medical Students of KIU (AMSKIU) presidential race election held on Thursday, January 25, 2024.

Senkaaba got 259 votes to beat Davis Ssebayiga, who came in second with 239 votes, and Faizo Muwanga, who got 222 votes in results declared by the Chairperson of the Electoral Commission Sharif Booza Kalibbala.

“We praise God that all the candidates were disciplined and all supporters followed the rules. I can confidently say that the election was free and fair,” Booza said.

“We thank the Faculty of Clinical Medicine and Dentistry (FCMD) and the University administration at large for the support. The process was largely successful,” he added.

Senkaaba will take over the leadership of AMSKIU, succeeding Amon Nkwasiibwe.

The other winners in the election were Adrine Nabwine (Vice-President), Ruben Makuel (General Secretary), Stephen Kweyamba (Treasurer), Lawrence Marco (Public Relations Officer) and Trevor Nsubuga (Chief Editor).