KIU News

  • Home /
  • KIU News /
  • KIU Gears Up for Crucial UFL Showdown Against Busitema This Sunday

KIU Gears Up for Crucial UFL Showdown Against Busitema This Sunday


By Isaac Akugizibwe

On Sunday, November 12th, 2023, the football team of KIU is gearing up to welcome Busitema University to Lukuli for their second last Group D match in the University Football League.

Seated in the third position with a total of 4 points, they find themselves narrowly behind Busitema University, which holds a one-point advantage. Meanwhile, UCU is at the forefront with an impressive 10 points, requiring just one more for a secure spot in the quarterfinals.

Sunday's match is crucial for the Giraffes, who will then face Kumi University in their final group D game. Coach Geoffrey Akabwai has this week emphasized the importance of a victory, recognizing that anything less than that would jeopardize their chances in the knockout round.

Despite boasting one of the league's best defenses, KIU is yet to score more goals in group D. Coach Akabwai has focused on improving the striking area during the two weeks of preparation for the last home game.

Abdu Waswa, a standout player with one goal and two assists in the previous four games, holds a key role. Known for his electric speed, agility, and eye for goal, Waswa's performance has been a driving force for the team.

Coach Akabwai acknowledged Waswa's impact, praising his goal-scoring ability and distribution skills.

"He has a good eye for goal and at the same time he has a good distribution of the ball to his teammates mostly strikers, the reason he has 2 assists."

KIU remains undefeated at home this season, drawing with UCU 1-1 and beating Kumi University 2-0.

A win on Sunday is crucial to keeping the team's knockout hopes alive. The team will either need to secure another victory against Kumi University or hope for Busitema University to lose their last game against UCU to secure a spot in the quarterfinals.

Coach Geoffrey Akabwai will finalize his starting eleven from the squad consisting of Opio Moses, Eddy Amoni, Lomodi Aaron, Saidi Ali Rasul, Abel Gift, Oketch Ronald, Ssempijja Haron, Kalyango Simon, Kayabula Peter, Wilson Musuuza, Murungi Sadik, Ssekadi Patrick, Kizza Ryena, Ntambi Brian, Wasswa Abdu, Awekonimungu Joseph, Olado Phillip, and Mugabe Brian.