Directorates

Directorate of Quality Assurance

The Directorate of Quality Assurance in Kampala International University (KIU) derives its mandate from the University council, through Senate and Senate Committee on Gender and Quality Assurance, and was established to oversee the operations of the University so as to ensure that minimum internal and external quality standards are met. The directorate implements its mandate of improving services in KIU through providing Quality assessments, innovation, audit, Monitoring and Evaluation of all University activities based on KIU policies and external regulators. 

QAD in KIU is sub-sectioned into Data management; Monitoring, Evaluation and Research; Teaching, Learning and Curriculum Development section; Community engagement and support services. Each of these sections performs specific roles tailored towards ensuring that all University activities and processes are ‘fit for purpose’; and utilizes Quality Assurance frameworks from the Uganda National Council for Higher Education (NCHE), Inter-University Council for East Africa (IUCEA) and other regional bodies like Uganda Quality Assurance Forum (UQAF) and East African Quality Assurance Network (EAQAN). 

Monitoring and evaluation is an integral component of quality assurance at KIU, and the different levels of monitoring by QAD are:

I.    Compliance monitoring – Focusing on inputs
This includes: Admissions, quality of staff, facilities, teaching & learning and physical environment etc.

II.    Diagnostic Monitoring – Focusing on the processes
This focuses on instructional processes, content coverage, examination processes, quality of staff output (KPIs), Research processes etc.

III.    Performance Monitoring – Focusing on outputs
At each of those levels, there are specific tools designed to assess quality, so as to inform management on a possible course of action.

Objectives

The overarching objective of Quality Assurance is to oversee all the operations of the University so as to ensure that minimum internal and external quality standards are met by;

  1. Overseeing the processes of accreditation of new programs and courses
  2. Actively engaging all relevant stake holders on matters of Quality improvement in service delivery.
  3. Ensuring that the minimum Quality standards of both processes and products in the University are met.
  4. Catalyzing improvement of service delivery in all University Directorates.
  5. Developing Policy and Compliance tools for assuring Quality in all University processes.

Philosophy

Our philosophy is to ensure that all stakeholders in KIU (students, lecturers, student service centers, regulators, market etc.) at all levels within the University service chain are involved in Quality Assurance.

Mission

The mission of QAD is commitment to improving the services at KIU through providing Quality assessments, innovation, audit, Monitoring and Evaluation of all University activities based on KIU policies and external regulators.

Vision

To enable KIU become a premier institution of international repute that prepares students for the world and for an inclusive society

Core Values

  1. Teamwork
  2. Commitment
  3. Integrity
  4. Reliability
  5. Passion 
  6. Respect

Staff Members

Akankwatsa

Akankwatsa Kamara

Monitoring Officer kamara.akankwatsa@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Ayebazibwe

Ayebazibwe Wilbert

Quality Assurance Officer-monitoring, Evaluation And Research wilbert.ayebazibwe@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Brendah

Brendah Bamucungura

Monitoring And Evaluation Officer bamucungura@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Chris

Chris Gumisiriza

Monitor chris.karengo@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Fahad

Fahad Ntulume

Quality Assurance Officer-m&e fahad.ntulume@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Fatumah

Fatumah Kabunga

Qa Officer fatumah.kabunga@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Grace

Grace Odongo

grace.odongo@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Hope

Hope Bashabire

Monitoring Office hope.bashabire@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Juma

Juma Matovu

Monitoring Officer matovujuma@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Kandeebe

Kandeebe Robert

Administrator robert.kandeebe@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Loy

Loy Apio

Monitoring Officer apio.loy@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Medress

Medress Masika

Monitoring Officer medress.masika@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Prossy

Prossy Prossy

Monitoring And Evalution Officer prossy.komugisha@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Richard

Richard Mugerwa

Community Engagement, Stuck Monitoring richard.mugerwa@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Solomon Matovu

Solomon Matovu Muyombya

Deputy Director Quality Assurance solomon.muyombya@kiu.ac.ug
View Details
Stelah

Stelah Busingye

Monitoring Officer busingye.stelah@gmail.com
View Details
Sylvia

Sylvia Nalubwama

director.qa@kiu.ac.ug
View Details

KIU

Our Contacts

Kampala International University,
Box 20000, Ggaba Road, Kansanga, Kampala

+(256) 392 001 816
+(256) 752 800 802