KIU News

Over 520 MPs to Swear in This Week


By Rogers Wanambwa

KIU, Main Campus – Starting today, Monday 17, May 2021, a total of 529 Members of Parliament-elect are to be sworn into office. The processions which will happen daily, are expected to end on Thursday.  

The swearing-in procession will take place at Parliament’s South Wing parking lot.

Besides, the procession will run from 8am to 1.30pm according to the programme, throughout the four days of the event. There will be break of 30 minutes before the ceremony resumes from 2pm to 6.30pm each day. 

Earlier last week, Helen Kawesa, the Ag. Director of Communications and Public Affairs at Parliament, told press that Parliament had hopes to handle between 80 and 120 MPs-elect per day. 

“The swearing in will be done in sequence of alphabetical order,” she said.

Accordingly, 132 MPs-elect are expected to be sworn in today with Ms Ababiku Jesca (Adjumani District Woman MP), being the first on the list. Consequently, the other 397 MPs-elect will be sworn-in during the remaining three days.  

Esther Davinia Anyakun (Nakapiripirit Woman MP), who retained her seat and will be accompanied by her mother, daughter and son to the ceremony, said: “I am looking forward to the event. I am not as anxious like I was in 2016 when I was swearing in for the first time.”

Meanwhile, Betty Aol Ocan (Gulu City Woman MP), also re-elected, said this year’s swearing-in procession is far different from the one of 2016. 

“Then, I was escorted to the swearing-in podium by about 10 people. This time round, it is only my three daughters accompanying me,” Ocan said. 

“Regardless, I am ready to take oath while donning my blue gomesi, which colour is inspired by my party, the Forum for Democratic Change (FDC),” she added. 

The MPs-elect will be escorted by only three people, those with disabilities will be granted one extra person as an aide. 

The guidelines are strict because of the existing standard operating procedures (SOPs) aimed at containing the spread of the Coronavirus.